2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Ticket Announcement


U.S. Soccer announced the Third Round pairings for the 101st Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup with the RailHawks hosting the Third Round on Wednesday, May 28th at WakeMed Soccer Park.  The RailHawks will host the winner of the Second Round match between the Charlotte Eagles (USL PRO) and the Carolina Dynamo (PDL).

Tickets for the Third Round match will go on-sale to the general public on Monday, May 12th at 12:00pm.  In addition to their seats included in the season ticket plan, RailHawks Season Ticket Holders will have the opportunity to purchase additional tickets during a special pre-sale.  Flex Plan Holders will also have the ability to purchase during the pre-sale window by calling the RailHawks Box Office at (919) 459-8144.

Individual match tickets purchased in advance of gameday start as low as $10 and are available for purchase through or by visiting the RailHawks Box Office at WakeMed Soccer Park.

In 2013, the RailHawks advanced to the Quarterfinal Round of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup before being knocked out by MLS powerhouse, Real Salt Lake.  Along the way, the RailHawks defeated the Carolina Dynamo (2nd Round), the LA Galaxy (3rd Round), and Chivas USA (4th Round), becoming only one of two non-MLS clubs to advance to the Quarterfinal Round.  Under RailHawks head coach Colin Clarke, the RailHawks are 5W-0T-2L in U.S. Open Cup play.

About the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup 

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, recognized as U.S. Soccer's National Club Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 100 consecutive years dating from 1914. This year's winner will earn a berth into the 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions League, $250,000 in prize money and have its name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, one of the oldest nationally contested trophies in American team sports. The runner-up will take home $60,000, while the team that advances the furthest from each lower division will earn a $15,000 cash prize. D.C. United is the defending U.S. Open Cup champion, having won its third tournament title (following triumphs in 1996 and 2008) after a tense 1-0 road victory against Real Salt Lake on Oct. 1, 2013. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor American soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

Back to News